Parks and Recreation

◄ Back
September 8, 2020 3:45 PM


Due to unprecedented and historic fire conditions throughout the state, the USDA Forest Service Pacific Southwest region has announced they are extending the temporary closure orders for 18 National Forests in California through September 21.

Forests include: Inyo National Forest, Sierra National Forest, Sequoia National Forest, Stanislaus National Forest, Los Padres National Forest, Angeles National Forest, San Bernardino National Forest, Cleveland National Forest, Eldorado National Forest, Tahoe National Forest, Lake Tahoe Basin Management Unit, Plumas National Forest, Lassen National Forest, Mendocino National Forest, Klamath National Forest, Six Rivers National Forest, Shasta-Trinity National Forest and Modoc National Forest.

The order prohibits going onto or being upon National Forest system lands, roads or trails within the National Forests listed above.

For the Town of Mammoth Lakes, the temporary forest closure includes the following:
• Lakes Basin and developed campgrounds
• Reds Meadow/Devils Postpile and developed campgrounds
• Mammoth RV Park
• Shady Rest Campgrounds
• Sherwin Creek Campground
• Shady Rest Park
• Shady Rest DiscGolfPark®

Facebook Twitter Email

Latest Update:

September 17, 2020 10:14 AM

On September 15, Humboldt-Toiyabe National Forest system lands located in California on the Carson and Bridgeport Ranger Districts reopened to the public.

Humboldt-Toiyabe National Forest